A Summer’s Sojourn – permission to have space

October 20, 2010 at 12:26 am 2 comments

I took the summer off from my healing practice to spend time with my children and with myself.   We spent the summer away from our primary home,  friends and routines.  I love summer.  I love the idea of stepping away from everything and being at choice to create whatever we want for the moment, day or week. 

We created a new community away from our primary community.  In this community I saw my children have the opportunity to establish and be however they wanted to be.  I found myself having flexibility in choosing who I talked with and how much time I spent talking with others.  Some days I found I really craved conversation and interaction and other days, in the quiet of the day I found I was very content to keep conversation to a minimal and sit with my thoughts.  I loved the way our days unfolded.  We had very little structure and most of the time, we just let opportunities come to us during the day.  I loved these summer days with the lack of structure and the permission I gave myself to be free of schedules, commitments and obligations. 

I am now back into the routine of the fall and I am finding I still crave the quiet, the lack of schedule and the ability to let the day unfold.   However, an interesting phenomena has happened.  In the summer I gave myself permission to follow my natural rhythm.  In the fall, I am finding I am labeling my natural rhythm  as being  lazy, or wasting time. 

I have just begun to notice how I give myself permission in the summer to have all this space and time to let the day unfold.  In the fall, I am so scheduled with things to get accomplished and activities to do.  I find it funny when I desire to just sit with my thoughts, I call this lazy.  How can I give myself permission to slow down and just be.  Do I really need to go on a summer’s sojourn to enjoy quiet moments to seek a rhythm of the day which isn’t about accomplishments but about being?

What do you give yourself permission for during your sojourns?  How can you bring them into your life consistently?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Women’s Mid-Life Crisis….Is there such a thing? Is Your Past Putting a Crimp on Your Career?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jeanne  |  October 27, 2010 at 2:45 am

    Love this! I can so relate. We just came back from a family week in New Hampshire and it was magic…days unfolding as you say, time to let the kids take the lead and just meander after then enjoying their creativity, taking a walk whenever I felt like it or just sitting and looking at the trees. Back home now and, yes, doing any of the same things seems lazy. So, thanks for naming the split. I will bring some awareness to it and see how I can bring my ‘vacation’ way of being into my ‘real’ life…so my life feels like vacation. I LOVE the sound of that.

    Reply
  • 2. Kyra  |  November 9, 2012 at 7:26 pm

    I’m college student have just began trying to incorporate the principles of yoga into my life about a year ago. This summer I went on vacation with my family to a lake cabin. It was incredible… for the first time in over a year I didn’t have homework or projects or deadlines to meet, I didn’t have meetings to go to our people to hang out with – I got to eat when I was hungry, adventure when I felt like it, pause and breathe as needed. I got back to school and a few weeks later fall started up. I haven’t judged myself as lazy when I choose to act as I do in the summer – with freedom and acceptance. That still exists even with a busy schedule for me it started with my outlook – if I could accept the silence was good for me, or benefiting me in my life (which it really does) then that’s not being lazy, that’s being productive just not in a manner that is usually accepted under social constraints since american’s seem to like working harder, not smarter.

    I just found your blog and think its truly wonderful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


