Women’s Mid-Life Crisis….Is there such a thing?

July 2, 2010 at 3:14 pm 2 comments

Men’s midlife crisis is a known phenomenon and well documented.  How about a women’s mid-life crisis.  Yes, women go through menopause, but I am not talking about a biological change in the body, I am talking about an emotional change.

The difference between men and women’s mid-life crisis as I see it is men’s is a more outward journey and women tend to be on a more inward journey.  Women in their forties are really finding themselves, loving themselves and letting go of what women should do or be” beliefs that are so predominant in our society.

Most women in their thirties spend time striving for perfection, to be successful, accepted, understood, supported.  They may think about how they are going to manage everything, to fit in, to keep up with everything, or to be better at things.   When women hit their forties they begin to feel for themselves their own power.  They begin to let go of what they should be like or should be doing to be successful and they move more to what they want to do and how they want to be.  I call this the beginning of the inner journey… when you are ready to let go of your shoulds and move to your wants.

By the way, this journey can happen at anytime in your life, it really begins when you look at how you are spending your life and you decide for yourself, it is time to change.  Time to change to a more rewarding and fulfilling way of being in your life for you.

Are you having your mid-life crisis… I sure hope so.  Moving from a reality of living your life the way others think you should live it to living your life in a way where you feel fulfilled is a powerful journey.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Reflections of women’s journeys through life…. A Summer’s Sojourn – permission to have space

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Phyllis Russell  |  July 3, 2010 at 11:48 am

    Yes! I am having my mid life crisis and loving it!!!

    I love your comment about “Are you having your mid life crisis? I sure hope so. Great article Mary Ann.

    PR

    Reply
  • 2. Deborah Mac Donald  |  February 21, 2015 at 8:13 pm

    I have been trying to heal from several chronic illnesses.I have tried meditation ,guided meditation, hypnosis ,eft and healing music therapy.I know that it is possible to heal but as a healer told me I must have some energy blocks.I feel i must be blocked in several areas of my life , relationship financial and health.I am in a bad state in all three areas.How do I go about identifying my blocks and then clearing them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


